Optimising material on cutting shape

Hello, im new to Goliath and learning from new testings i made.
Last work test was a ø110cm circle on a 150x150cm 6mm pvc and goliath cut it with the machine outside de circle, and some times the whells loose support base.

is there any way to (in this case for example) to make the machine cut with the machine inside de circle, so that we can guarantee the full base for traction?

Hi, thanks for your post. If the Goliath comes out of the working plane it may mean that the machine’s manoeuvring space is not sufficient, we suggest you insert panel extensions when necessary.

How do you know when you need a panel extension? I would like to pick the material size with low waste, if it is a larger sheet, ie 1000mm x 1000mm will the machine always stay inside and I can cut right to the edge?

The distance from the figure to the upper edge of the panel can also be equal to 0, the important thing is that Goliath has enough room to maneuver, so on the right and left there must be a distance of at least 200mm from the edge, if this distance is not there it will be necessary to insert panel extensions.

If you wish to create a design that extends all the way around the perimeter of the panel then Slingshot will ask you to insert extensions of 200mm on the left and right side and 400mm at the base.

2 Likes

Lucia,

Excellent information, where do we find all these specific setup information.
I had to figured this one out after trial and error and by measuring, so there was some material wasted, the least expensive 4x8ft 1/2in sanded plywood in Los Angeles at Home Depot is around $50
Now my question is where do I mount the towers, at end corners of material and enter X Y dimensions in boxes or I mount towers at end corners of extension panels and enter material X Y dimensions in boxes.